During the season of 2018, CIYMS enjoyed many successes as a result of sustained dedication, teamwork, camaraderie and of course, amazing performances. Listed below are the honours attained by each squad within the club, from the First XI to the Fifth XI.

First XI

2018 was a special year for our First XI. After a stellar season consisting of just one defeat, CIYMS were crowned the Robinson Services Premier League champions. A string of remarkable performances meant that CIYMS First XI were able to accrue an impressive 52 points by season-end, a staggering 20 points more than runners-up, Waringstown, who are themselves regarded as an elite outfit.

The ecstasy of winning the league was not to be complemented by victory in the Challenge Cup, however. After having performed exceptionally well in reaching the semi final, our First XI were unable to defeat previously mentioned rivals, Waringstown, narrowly missing out by just one wicket.

In the Lagan Valley Steels Twenty20 Cup, CIYMS once again performed well in reaching the semi final after placing 2nd in Group B with a total of 12 points. However, we were frustratingly beaten out by Waringstown for a second time before reaching the final.

The Clear Currency Irish Senior Cup was not to be challenged for by CIYMS, losing to Merrion in the second round. A margin of just 10 runs made the difference between the two sides, with Merrion then advancing all the way to the final.

2018 Player of the Year
Chris Dougherty

Second XI

CIYMS Second XI managed to clinch the number 3 spot in the NCU Junior League 1. With a total of 6 wins and 8 losses, placing third in this competitive league is a testament to the resilience and the never say die attitude of our Second XI squad members. An impressive victory included the defeat of Muckamore on the 11th of August. Not a single wicket was dropped during this masterclass of cricket, with batsman, Jack Beattie, enjoying a solid 73 not out in the process.

Although managing to comfortably beat Monaghan by 136 runs in the Junior Cup, CIYMS regrettably could not progress any further as a result of playing with an ineligible player.

2018 Player of the Year
Jack Beattie

Third XI

Our Third XI are yet another squad within CIYMS Cricket Club who enjoyed a lot of success. They managed to gain promotion from the NCU Junior League 4 after tallying up a fantastic record of 12 wins with just 3 defeats. Our Third XI gave a great account of themselves in beating out Instonians IV by 87 runs. B Cooper reached a commendable 110 not out, with Ethan Biggerstaff performing well in the bowling department, achieving figures of 3-22.

So close to reaching the semi finals in the NCU Minor (Lindsay) Cup, CIYMS Third XI were handed a defeat by Lisburn, losing by just one wicket. After performing so well in the second round, beating Cliftonville Academy by a substantial 6 wicket margin, our Third XI were disappointed to not have progressed further in the tournament.

2018 Player of the Year
Jeremy Biggerstaff

Fourth XI

CIYMS Fourth XI managed to secure the number 4 spot in the NCU Junior League 7. With a total of 6 wins and 7 defeats, our Fourth XI found it difficult to build momentum throughout a testing season. Several excellent performances should be noted, however, including the win over Laurelvale III by 9 wickets and the defeat of Victoria II by 28 runs.

During the NCU Minor Qualifying Cup, our Fourth XI managed to reach the third round before suffering a defeat to Templepatrick. Positives should be taken from the fact that Templepatrick then went on to reach the final, demonstrating the strength of their side.

2018 Player of the Year
Jack Rainey

Fifth XI

Finally, our Fifth XI finished the 2018 season at number 5 in the NCU Junior League 8. With 4 wins and 5 defeats, they too found it difficult to build up a head of steam. Impressive victories came against Instonians and Monaghan, winning by 7 and 8 wickets respectively.

CIYMS Fifth XI were put out in the second round of the NCU Minor Qualifying Cup by BISC. Although a disappointing defeat, Amit Gupta put on a impressive performance, achieving a solid total of 55 before exiting the crease.

2018 Player of the Year
Peter Topping

Individual Honours

Stats Trophy – Chris Dougherty
Batsman of the Year – Nigel Jones
Bowler of the Year – Allen Coulter
Match Winning Performance – Ryan Hunter & Jason Van de Merwe
100s – Chris Maskery, Johnny McAlpine, Chris Dougherty, Nigel Jones, John Matchett
6 Wickets – Allen Coulter
Hat-trick Wickets – Jacob Mulder

Slide background

Become a Sponsor

We are always looking for support and sponsors for CIYMS Cricket Club. If this is something that would interest you, please click below.